Program Structure

The Graduate Certificate in Child Development will provide graduates of disciplines outside Psychology with an opportunity to gain specialised professional knowledge and practical skills to apply psychological principles to their work with children.  The program will augment the existing skills of professionals working in education, acute care facilities, child and family services, and allied health to improve outcomes for children with diverse needs in their care.


Students must complete 36 Units of Credit (36 UOC) as a standalone program.

This program consists of 6 core courses, each course is worth 6 UOC. Students must complete all 6 courses to be awarded the Graduate Certificate. Each course will be delivered 100% online and will run for 6 weeks. There are 6 teaching periods per year, allowing for personalised and flexible program structure.

Introductory Courses

PSYC5111 Evaluating Evidence
PSYC5112 Introduction to Psychology

Intermediate Courses

PSYC5113 Child Development
PSYC5114 Learning and Cognition

Advanced Courses

PSYC5115 Developmental Psychopathology
PSYC5116 Well-being and Resilience

  • Students must start with either PSYC5111 or PSYC5112 and need to complete both PSYC5111 and PSYC5112 before continuing intermediate courses (PSYC5113 and PSYC5114).
  • Intermediate courses (PSYC5113 and PSYC5114) may be completed in either order.
  • The introductory and intermediate courses (PSYC5111, PSYC5112, PSYC5113, PSYC5114) must be completed before proceeding to the advanced units.
  • Students who have completed a course equivalent to PSYC5112 or PSYC5113 as part of a prior degree within 10 years prior to program commencement may apply for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) in the online application. Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is also known as ‘credit transfer’ or ‘advanced standing’.
  • To be considered for credit transfer, please answer ‘yes’ for question whether you are seeking credit in your online application and upload the official transcripts as well as the official course outlines of the completed courses that you believe are equivalent.
  • Students can enrol in a maximum of one course per hexamester.
  • Maximum time to complete the program is 10 years