Marilynn Brewer

Marilynn Brewer

Marilynn Brewer

Visiting Professorial Scholar

BA (Hons.), 1963, North Park College, Chicago, IL
MA, 1966, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
PhD, 1968, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

Contact details

Email: Marilynn Brewer

Research Summary

Research Areas: Social identity and intergroup relations; Social cognition, stereotyping, and prejudice


Selected Publications:

  • Brewer, M. B. (2003). Intergroup relations. 2nd Edition. Buckingham, UK: Open University Press.
  • Brewer, M.B. (1991). The social self: On being the same and different at the same time. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 17, 475-482.
  • Brewer, M.B., & Gardner, W. (1996). Who is this “we”? Levels of collective identity and self representations. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 71, 83-93.
  • Brewer, M.B. (1999). The psychology of prejudice: Ingroup love or outgroup hate? Journal of Social Issues, 55 (3), 429-444.
  • Roccas, S., & Brewer, M.B. (2002). Social identity complexity. Personality and Social Psychology Review, 6, 88-106.
  • Brewer, M.B., & Pierce, K.P. (2005). Social identity complexity and outgroup tolerance. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 31, 428-437
  • Brewer, M. B., & Chen, Y. (2007). Where (who) are collectives in collectivism: Toward a conceptual clarification of individualism and collectivism. Psychological Review, 114, 133-151.
  • Brewer, M. B. (2007). The importance of being we: Human nature and intergroup relations. American Psychologist, 62, 728-738.
  • Buchan, N., Grimalda, G., Wilson, R., Brewer, M., Fatas, E., & Foddy, M. (2009). Globalization and human cooperation. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 106, 4138-4142

Awards, Fellowships & Grants


Honorary Doctorate, University of Groningen, The Netherlands, June 2009
Recipient, 2007 American Psychological Association Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award
Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2004
Recipient, 2004 Distinguished Scientist Award, Society for Experimental Social Psychology
President (1993-1995) – American Psychological Society